Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Mystery Writers Choose Their Favorite Mysteries, Continued.

In Writing Mysteries, edited by Sue Grafton, (2d edition, 2002, Mystery Writers of America), thirty-seven authors were interviewed and, on occasion, the subject of favorite mysteries was addressed. In some instances, the answers were a single choice. These lists are presented as compiled in The Essential Mystery Lists: For Readers, Collectors, and Librarians (ReadHowYouWant), Roger Sobin, 2011.

Angela Zeman

Zeman has entertained readers with her unique detective-hero, a witch.

Good Cop, Bad Cop by Barbara D'Amato. (1998)

Carolyn Wheat

For over three decades, Wheat has written award-winning fiction and has helped teach mystery writing.

The Concrete Blonde by Michael Connelly. (1994)

Ann Rule

As is reflected in her mostly non-fiction choices, Rule is a best-selling author of true-crime tales.

Bitter Blood: A True Story of Southern Family Pride, Madness and Multiple Murder by Jerry Bledsoe. (1988)
Garden of Evil by Edna Buchanan. (1998)
In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. (1965)
Shot in the Heart: One Family's History in Murder by Mikal Gilmore. (1995)
The Executioners (aka Cape Fear) by John D. MacDonald. (1957)
Two of a Kind: The Hillside Stranglers by Darcy O'Brien. (1985)
Along Came a Spider by James Patterson. (1992)
Murder Being Once Done by Ruth Rendell. (1972)
Blood and Money by Thomas Thompson. (1976)

John Lutz

In his distinguished career, Lutz has authored over forty novels and 200 short stories. 

"A" is for Alibi by Sue Grafton. (1982)
Indemnity Only by Sara Paretsky. (1982)
California Fire and Life by Don Winslow. (1999)

Dick Lochte

Lochte is the best-selling and award-winning author of the "Dog" series, one of which made Jan Burke's list (below).

Cold Steel Rain by Kenneth Abel. (2000)

Laurie R. King

Ms. King won the Edgar for Best First Novel and has been going strong ever since with works in contemporary and historical settings.

The Last Houseparty by Peter Dickinson. (1982)
A Summer in the Twenties by Peter Dickinson. (1981)
Pictures of Perfection by Reginald Hill. (1994)

Tony Hillerman

In a previous entry, Hillerman gave a more complete listing of his favorites. Here he presents two more published after the other list was composed.

Forty Words for Sorrow by Giles Blunt. (2000)
The Best American Mystery Stories of the Century, edited by Otto Penzler and Tony Hillerman. (2001)

Jeremiah Healy

Healy has written 15 books featuring the private eye John Cuddy. All fifteen have been nominated for and/or won Shamus awards.

A Maiden's Grave by Jeffery Deaver. (1995)
One for the Money by Janet Evanovich. (1994)
Nobody's Fool by Richard Russo. (1993)

Linda Fairstein

Fairstein is a former district attorney who, like her novels, focused on crimes against women.

Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow. (1987)
Postmortem by Patricia Cornwell. (1990)
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John Le Carré. (1963)
L.A. Requiem by Robert Crais. (1999)
Anatomy of a Murder by Robert Traver. (1958) 

Jan Burke

Burke has authored 13 novels and one short story collection including the Edgar award winner, Bones.

The Black Echo by Michael Connelly. (1992)
Whip Hand by Dick Francis. (1979)
"A" is for Alibi by Sue Grafton. (1982)
Sleeping Dog by Dick Lochte. (1985)
Crocodile on the Sandbank by Elizabeth Peters. (1975)
Brat Farrar by Josephine Tey. (1949)
Briarpatch by Ross Thomas. (1984)
The Onion Field by Joseph Wambaugh. (1973)


The first post:
P.D. James 
Andrew Klavan 
Thomas H. Cook
John Dickson Carr 
Arthur Conan Doyle

The second post:
Isaac Asimov
Robert Barnard
George Baxt
James Ellroy
Michael Gilbert
Sue Grafton
Reginald Hill
Tony Hillerman
HRF Keating
Peter Lovesey
Charlotte MacLeod
Sara Paretsky
Julian Symons
Martin Hill Ortiz

The third post:
Robert B. Parker
Elizabeth Peters
Peter Straub 
Donald E. Westlake
Phyllis A. Whitney

The fourth post:
Aaron Elkins
John Gardner 
Michael Malone
Marcia Muller

The fifth post:
Robert Barnard (best recent)
Jacques Barzun
Rex Stout 
Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine 1950.

The sixth post:
Jeannette de Beauvoir
Mary Reed
John Dufresne

Martin Hill Ortiz, also writing under the name, Martin Hill, is the author of A Predatory Mind. His mystery, Never Kill A Friend, will be available June 27th from Ransom Note Press. His epic poem, Two Mistakes, recently won second place in the Margaret Reid/Tom Howard Poetry Competition.


Post a Comment